Book Review: Targets of Deception (Jordan Sandor Book 2) by Jeffrey S. Stephens

Targets of Deception

Ex-CIA agent Jordan Sandor races against time to prevent a worldwide terrorist plot in the page-turning thrilling prequel to Targets of Opportunity.

When Jordan Sandor resigned from active service with the Central Intelligence Agency, it was before September 11th, before the fall of Saddam Hussein, and before the world had so dramatically changed. He is reluctantly drawn back into action when a series of violent events leads him to suss out a new al-Qaeda conspiracy to initiate cataclysmic assaults with poison gas.

Sandor follows the deadly trail from New York to Florida to Paris and, ultimately, to the small town of Portofino on the Italian Riviera. Never sure who he can trust and who may be an enemy, Jordan relies on his experience, instincts, and skills as he risks his life to uncover plans for attacks against the United States and its allies. When Sandor discovers a rogue agent behind the plot, he realizes he is the one man who can prevent the catastrophe that could put the lives of millions of people at stake.

Reviews

PRAISE FOR TARGETS OF OPPORTUNITY:”An Iranian assassin arrives in Washington, D.C., with a secret and appears ready to defect to the CIA. Top agent Jordan Sandor has dealt with this assassin before and barely survived. When they meet, Sandor doesn’t believe a word he says. Still, Sandor’s superiors order him to follow the lead. The information points to North Korea, where terrorists are plotting a major attack on the U.S. (A deal seems to have been struck in which Middle Eastern terrorists will take the blame for the attack.) Sandor and his men arrive in North Korea for a preemptive strike, but it all goes bad, leaving some of his team members dead. Can the survivors both foil the attack and escape North Korea? This plot-driven, action-heavy thriller will appeal to fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor..”

Booklist Online

“The CIA agent with a reputation as a loose cannon relentlessly pursues a nebulous group of terrorists planning a major attack on the U.S. While it first appears the plotters are Iranians, Sandor’s investigation points to North Korea and Venezuela also being involved. A mission into North Korea results in the capture of a high-level government official as well as the death of one of Sandor’s team. When the terrorists initially attack in the French West Indies–a commercial jet is blown up and a secret communications post is destroyed–Sandor suspects these outrages are meant to distract from the main attack. He keeps following the trail, annoying his government bosses with his sometimes extreme methods, until he ends up off the coast of Baytown, Tex., where everyone except Sandor thinks the strike is going down. The explosive finale will leave readers more than satisfied.”

–Publishers Weekly

PRAISE FOR TARGETS OF DECEPTION:

“Jeffrey Stephens has arrived with a ripping, good yarn of intrigue that will keep you turning the pages all the way to its explosive ending.” — #1 New York Times Best-Selling Author Vince Flynn, PROTECT AND DEFEND

“Jeff Stephens is a writer to watch. His first book is a very solid, fast paced thriller that carries the reader on a globe-trotting adventure into the world of counter-terrorism. We will want more of CIA agent Jordan Sandor.” — Robert K. Tanenbaum • Bestselling author MALICE, COUNTERPLAY, FURY

“Jeffrey Stephens takes the reader on a fast-paced tale of international intrigue and suspense in this, his first novel. With a terrific lead character in Jordon Sandor, and many plot twists, I look forward to watching Stephens develop as a top-notch author.”

— Steve Alten, NY Times best-selling author of Meg and The Shell Game:

“MOVE OVER JASON BOURNE, I WANT JORDAN SANDOR! I not only enjoyed the book, but also liked the character of Jordan Sandor . . . there is humor and a very human kindness, too”

— romantictimes.com

About the Author:

A native New Yorker, Jeffrey Stephens now lives in Greenwich, Connecticut with his wife Nancy, where they raised their two sons, Graham and Trevor. Stephens is the author of the Jordan Sandor thrillers, TARGETS OF DECEPTION and TARGETS OF OPPORTUNITY.

Rogue Mission: A Jordan Sandor Thriller
By Jeffrey S. Stephens
On sale April 26, 2016
Post Hill Press
ISBN: 9781618688132

Rogue Mission (Post Hill Press, April 26, 2016) takes readers on a mission more complex and with more at stake for Sandor than any he has ever faced. From Bermuda to the United Kingdom, from France to the deserts of Iraq, Jordan must face down villains both known and unknown, recognized and hidden, as he struggles to prevent the deaths of tens of thousands of innocent people.

Needing help as never before, Sandor calls upon his usual group of talented associates, as well as top CIA analyst Beth Sharrow, a former lover still willing to risk her life and career to help Sandor. The action begins on the first page and does not end until the explosive climax.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s