Welcome to Vanilla Heart Publishing – Susan Berry!

Susan Berry

Author Susan Berry

I read my first romance novel when I was ten years old. My grandmother gave it to me to help pass the time on a long car ride to the Midwest. I grumbled as I opened the book and began reading. Ten miles later, I couldn’t put it down. The characters came alive, the tension between them building as I frantically turned the pages. I had to know how it all worked out. That experience never left me. From that day forward, I read romance novels every chance I got, and reading turned into writing, which eventually led to my first novel, a traditional romance called Dance of the Heart.

Every woman secretly wishes for a man who is both strong and charming enough to sweep her off her feet. A man who can match her independence with just enough force to break through her guarded heart. As someone who loves to escape into the pages of love, I am dedicated to the writing of such novels filled with heartfelt romance that can be shared with every generation.

Along with romance novels, I have written several articles regarding social issues close to my heart and had the privilege of being a guest speaker for Together We Care, a diverse group of Puget Sound collaborators who are partnering toward achieving outstanding care for individuals experiencing chronic illness in our community.

Interview with Susan Berry

What is the greatest joy of writing for you?

One of the greatest joys of writing, for me, is being introduced to my characters. As I write, my characters speak to me and lead me in the direction they want their story to end up. Most of the time I find the journey is not what I had initially planned. I feel that in writing fiction, it is important not to be constrained by your initial vision for the project, but allow flexibility in the storyline, to go where the characters take you.

Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?

The first story I ever wrote was about an awkward girl who thought she was too tall. It was called, Jenny the Giant. I was the tallest girl in my class all through elementary and most of junior high. It was my way of easing my self-consciousness. In the story, Jenny finds her height an advantage when one of her classmates, a mean girl named Cheryl, needs help getting a cat down from a tree in her backyard and Jenny is the only one tall enough to do the job.

What do you read for pleasure?

I read mostly romance for pleasure. I also enjoy fantasy novels that have characters struggling with human flaws.

What are you working on next?

I am currently working on Laughter of the Heart, the sequel to Dance of the Heart, as well as a fantasy novel called Bravery.

Who are your favorite authors?

There are so many authors who I enjoy reading from old time romance novels written by Flora Kidd or Violet Winspear, to works by Suzanne Collins and Nora Roberts.

When you’re not writing, how do you spend your time?

When I am not writing, I enjoy antique shopping with my daughter Elisabeth, being anywhere outdoors, and sharing a meal with family and friends.

Where to find Susan Berry online

Website: http://SusanMBerry.weebly.com/
Twitter: @SusanBerry111
Facebook: Facebook profile
Blog: http://SusanMBerry.weebly.com/

Welcome, Author Susan Berry!

Leave a Reply

