Book Promo: Kidnapped Hearts

Kidnapped Hearts, Book 1 of Band of Friends series
blurb:

Small town girl and owner of The Memory Café, Pamela Young, regales in her life with her friends, aptly named the Band of Friends until her life is turned upside down with stolen bearer bonds mysteriously coming into her possession.

After a five-year disappearing act, Jake Gibson returns home retired from the FBI and ready to make amends with his estranged family. A freelance case falls into his lap, involving the woman he’d resisted years ago. Jake will do anything to protect Pamela, even put his life in jeopardy along with his heart.

excerpt:

Pamela stood in front of him, her lips in a firm line. “Jake, where is Steve?”

He ran his hand through his hair. “I don’t know.” Which was true. “But I have a feeling th—”

“You have a feeling!”

Jake’s eyes widened as her hands began to flail.

This was no time to mention how sexy she looked. “Yes.”

She inched closer and frowned. “What feeling, Jake? The one where there’s a leak in the FBI department? The precise department that’s supposed to be keeping me safe and finding who is responsible for the threatening notes?”

He opened his mouth, but she held up her hand, shushing him.

She paused. He could tell his assumption was right—she was piecing the details together. “You didn’t stumble upon my café when we first met, did you? You were there looking for someone, weren’t you?” Her hands flew to her hips. “The whole time you watched me was for another reason, wasn’t it?”

That puzzle he didn’t think she’d notice. He started to speak, and her fingers covered his lips. Tears welled. “Jake, I need to know, why did you sleep with me? Did it have anything to with the case? Were you trying to find out more information?” She slid her fingers away.

“No, dammit! I did because I wanted to be close to you.” He reached behind her and pulled her close.

She jerked away, folding her arms across her chest as her back stiffened. This wasn’t going to be good. “I don’t believe you. You’ve been lying to me. All along there was more to my case. Only it didn’t have anything to do with me. It had to do with your dubious past. You and whatever you’ve got going with this Sanjar guy.”

He searched her eyes. “How do you know?”

She chuckled. “For an agent, you sure are dumb. Sounds travel in the quiet night air. A few waves hit the shore, but the Chesapeake was no ocean. I heard you and Steve. Steve said you would never have peace unless Sanjar is removed.”

It wasn’t exactly what Steve had said, but he thought correcting her wouldn’t help his cause.

Jake grasped both of her arms. “I know I need to explain things, but this isn’t the time. We’ve got to find Steve.”

Pamela winced. “You’re right. We should find him first.” She stood, closed the gap between them and jabbed a finger in his chest. “Do not try to touch me.” She turned away, pulling her hair into a ponytail. “I can’t believe I slept with you,” she whispered and slammed the bathroom door.

He slid his hand down his face and slumped on the bed. Damn, he’d messed up again.

About Cait Jarrod:
As a child, I entertained myself for hours playing pretend, but not with dolls and such. I created stories and pictured them in my mind, sometimes even acted them out, my well preserved secret until now. I spent years after leaving school trying to figure out my niche. Not being a literary enthusiast, I never thought my childhood pastime would lead in this direction.In life, one door closes and another opens, so I’m told. This was true for me. I lost my mother, my best friend, to cancer. After a year without her, I picked up her favorite hobby…reading. After one book, a romantic suspense, I was hooked. In the past, I’d fall asleep after a few minutes of reading. Now, books rank up there with a good red wine. It didn’t take long for my childhood muse to come back in adult version urging me to put the scenes in my head on paper.Why do I write romantic suspense? I love writing and creating the meet-cue (the point where the hero and heroine meet) to the blossoming of the romance. Add a suspenseful plot or a good mystery to the equation and the perfect book is born to curl up to and lose yourself in, taking you away from reality, troubles.

I hope I have provided you with the escape similar to the ones I conjured in childhood and rediscovered as an adult, and I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I have loved creating them.

Cait’s debut novel, Kidnapped Hearts, won awards in the categories of Best Happily Ever After and Best Suspense.

Cait lives in Virginia with her husband and three daughters.

 
Leave a Reply

